Thursday, 31 December 2015

Stu Gardner - And the Sanctified Sound (Funk/Soul US 1974)

Size: 83.4 MB
Bitrate: 256
Ripped by: ChrisGoesRock
Artwork Included
Source: Japan 24-Bit Remaster

(Not easy to find a biography about this album) Veteran session keyboardist Stu Gardner assumes the spotlight for Stu Gardner & the Sanctified Sound, a solid if unspectacular funk outing indicative of its creator's journeyman status. 

Gardner and his band (including bassist Charles Fletcher) are undoubtedly gifted players, but his songwriting is pedestrian at best, drawing obvious inspiration from early-'70s icons like Sly & the Family Stone, James Brown, and Stevie Wonder but never reaching the same heights. 

A soulful, nuanced "Home on the Range" and the self-explanatory "Funky Neighborhood" nevertheless make for engaging listening, and DJs in search of sample fodder will find a number of funky breaks to plunder.

01. Devil In A Man 04:18
02. Added To A Broken Heart 03:50
03. Funky Neighborhood 03:14
04. Home On The Range 04:55
05. Mathilda (Instrumental) 03:06
06. Sanctified Sound 05:51
07. Sister Matilda 03:55
08. Leave Him Alone 02:53
09. The Sweetest Song 05:14
10. The Sweetest Song (Part 2) 02:04

1. Stu Gardner
2. Stu Gardner
3. Stu Gardner

1 comment:

DoKtor Alphonzo said...

cool beans - a great soul/funk discovery

many thanks for the post

happy new year!!