Saturday, October 18, 2014

Hawkwind - At The BBC 1972 (Great Performance)

Hawkwind - Doremi Fasol Latido Album 1972

Size: 235 MB
Bitrate: 256
Ripped by: ChrisGoesRock
Some Artwork Included

BBC Radio One Live in Concert is a 1991 live album of a 1972 concert by Hawkwind.

"It was recorded straight to quarter-inch tape – there were no overdubs and no possibility of remixing. This particular performance was also continuous for one hour which made for an interesting change over when the programme was aired since the reels of tape only lasted approximately 30 minutes each." – Jeff Griffin, BBC in Concert series producer.

This concert is still regularly aired by BBC Radio on the Live at Midnight slot on the BBC 6 Music channel . Despite Griffins' claims that remixing is not possible, the broadcast version does sound markedly different from the CD release, having greater clarity and definition on the instruments and vocals. The broadcast version also has some brutal edits, removing the first 4 minutes of "Brainstorm", and during "Earth Calling" and the end credits.

In March 2010, EMI re-issued the concert as Hawkwind: At the BBC – 1972 as a double CD; the first CD containing the original Windsong version, the second CD containing the version BBC uses for broadcast. The first CD also includes the studio session recorded for the Johnnie Walker show in August 1972, with performances of "Silver Machine" and "Brainstorm".

Hawkwind At The BBC 1972 captures the band just after the surprise of the UK number three hit single in July with the classic "Silver Machine", and before their live experience Space Ritual which was recorded on tour later in the year.
Whilst the bulk of this double CD release is made up of the live set recorded for the BBC In Concert programme, it opens with a previously unreleased session recorded for Johnnie Walker featuring a shortened version of the Doremi Fasol Latido album classic "Brainstorm" and a version of the then hit single "Silver Machine", featuring Lemmy on vocals as per the single. 

The In Concert itself, a hypnotic continuous performance, is presented in both mono and stereo versions. The mono version was previously released by Windsong on CD in 1991 and has been remastered and re-indexed to include all of the pieces originally performed, and the concert itself in its entirety.

The stereo version has long been in the domain of the bootleggers as an off-air recording known the as "Broadcast" version. 

This mix was in fact distributed by the BBC for broadcast internationally and features an edited "Brainstorm", missing approximately 4 minutes from the front of the song, a shorter "Welcome To The Future" and "Electronic No. 1" (not indexed on the previous CD release), but a longer "Countdown" introduction. Officially released for the first time, apart from being in stereo, the sound quality is superior to the mono version and the mix is generally more exciting.

Whilst the CD racks and on-line listings are full of unofficial and poor Hawkwind live recordings, this set is a prime chunk of space rock from the band at the peak of their powers and is an essential addition to the band's huge discography. 

Recorded at 28th September 1972
at The Paris Theatre London
Broadcasting 14 October 1972

Dave Brock - Guitar, Vocals
 Nik Turner - Sax, Flute, Vocals
 Del Dettmar - Synthesizer
 Dik Mik - Audio Generator, Electronics
 Lemmy - Bass, Vocals
 Simon King - Drums

Disc 1 (Live At The Paris Theatre, London on 28/09/72 - apart from tracks 1 and 2) MONO
01 - Brainstorm (Johnnie Walker Radio 1 Session) 
02 - Silver Machine (Johnnie Walker Radio 1 Session) 
03 - Countdown
04 - Born To Go
05 - The Black Corridor
06 - Seven By Seven
07 - Brainstorm
08 - Electronic No. 1
09 - Master Of The Universe
10 - Paranoia
11 - Earth Calling
12 - Silver Machine
13 - Welcome To The Future

Disc 2 (Live At The Paris Theatre, London on 28/09/72) STEREO
01 - Countdown
02 - Born To Go
03 - The Black Corridor
04 - Seven By Seven
05 - Brainstorm
06 - Electronic No. 1
07 - Master Of The Universe
08 - Paranoia
09 - Earth Calling
10 - Silver Machine
11 - Welcome To The Future

Part 1: Hawkwind 1
Part 2: Hawkwind 2
Part 1: Hawkwind 1
Part 2: Hawkwind 2
Hawkwind - In Search Of Space (March 1971)
Hawkwind - France Single 1972
Hawkwind - UK Single 1970