Saturday, April 14, 2018

Elvin Bishop - Juke Joint Jump (US 1975)

Size: 100MB
Bitrate: 320
Ripped by: ChrisGoesRock
Artwork Included
Source: Japan SHM-CD Remaster

Elvin Richard Bishopnal member of the Paul Butterfield Blues Band, he was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame as a member of that group in 2015 and the Blues Hall of Fame in his own right in 2016.

Bishop was born in Glendale, California, the son of Mylda (Kleege) and Elvin Bishop, Sr. He grew up on a farm near Elliott, Iowa. His family moved to Tulsa, Oklahoma when he was 10. There he attended Will Rogers High School, winning a full scholarship to the University of Chicago as a National Merit Scholar. He moved to Chicago in 1960 to attend the university, where he majored in physics.

Elvin Bishop Poster US 1969
In 1963 Bishop met harmonica player Paul Butterfield in the neighborhood of Hyde Park and joined Butterfield's blues band, and remained with them for five years. Bishop was originally Butterfield's only guitarist, but was later joined by Mike Bloomfield, who largely took over the lead guitar role for the band's classic first two albums. After Bloomfield departed, the Butterfield Band's third album, The Resurrection of Pigboy Crabshaw, took its name from Bishop's nickname and his renewed role as lead guitarist. Bishop recorded a fourth album with Butterfield, his last with the band, in 1968.

During his time with the Butterfield Blues Band, Bishop met blues guitarist Louis Meyers at a show. Bishop persuaded Meyers to trade his Gibson ES-345 for Bishop's Telecaster. Bishop liked the Gibson so much he never gave it back and has used it throughout his career. Bishop has nicknamed his Gibson ES-345 "Red Dog," a name he got from a roadie for the Allman Brothers Band.

In 1968 he went solo and formed the Elvin Bishop Group, also performing with Bloomfield and Al Kooper on their album titled The Live Adventures of Mike Bloomfield and Al Kooper. The group signed with Fillmore Records, which was owned by Bill Graham, who also owned the Fillmore music venues.

Bishop sat in with the Grateful Dead on June 8, 1969, at the Fillmore West in San Francisco. He opened the second set with the lengthy blues jam "Turn on Your Lovelight" without Pigpen or Jerry. He played two more songs with the Dead, "The Things I Used to Do" and "Who's Lovin' You Tonight".

In March 1971, The Elvin Bishop Group and The Allman Brothers Band co-billed a series of concerts at the Fillmore East. Bishop joined The Allman Brothers Band onstage for a rendition of his own song, "Drunken-Hearted Boy." Over the years, Bishop has recorded with many other blues artists, such as John Lee Hooker, and with Zydeco artist Clifton Chenier. In late 1975, he played guitar for a couple of tracks on Bo Diddley's The 20th Anniversary of Rock 'n' Roll album and, in 1995, he toured with B.B. King.

Bishop made an impression on album-oriented rock FM radio stations with "Travelin' Shoes" in 1975 but, a year later, in 1976, Bishop released his most memorable single, "Fooled Around and Fell in Love," which peaked at #3 in the US Billboard Hot 100 chart (and #34 in the UK charts). The recording featured vocalist Mickey Thomas and drummer Donny Baldwin who both later joined Jefferson Starship.

Bishop feels that the limitations of his voice have helped his songwriting.

During the 1960s and 1970s he recorded for the Fillmore, Epic and Capricorn labels.

01. Juke Joint Jump 5:32
02. Calling All Cows 4:30
03. Rollin' Home 4:57
04. Wide River 5:54
05. Sure Feels Good 2:48
06. Arkansas Line 3:22
07. Hold On 3:42
08. Crawling King Snake 3:51
09. Do Nobody Wrong 4:50

1. Elvin Bishop
2. Elvin Bishop
3. Elvin Bishop

The Butterfield Blues Band at the Fillmore January 1967.

Friday, April 13, 2018

Various Artist - Vertigo Annual Album UK 1970 (Vertigo Label Bands)

Size: 248 MB
Bitrate: 320
Ripped by: ChrisGoesRock
Artwork Included
Source: Japan SHM-CD Remaster

The title of this double label sampler leads one to believe that there were plans for an annual release, but Vertigo never got any further than 1970. Contrary to the 'Heads together' sampler, this one contains previously released material only and so serves quite succeedingly as an introduction to Vertigo's miracles. 

The contents are chosen with taste: almost every track is among the best from the respective album and therefore this sampler comes recommended for anyone who wants to start to explore what the fuzz is all about.

Red foliage surely is a favourite of Keef the album designer. This time a naked lady on a dotted hobby-horse fronts the landscape. A small boy dressed in parade uniform plays the drum and looks at her. Quite striking.

The lettering is chosen in accordance to the 'annual' idea and could have been taken from any children's annual of the times.

Inside the horse's head is displayed in a coloured negative photograph and also proudly quotes underground magazine 'it': Vertigo is the least pretentiously and most happily married of the 'progressive' labels to emerge from 'neath the wings of the large record companies. 

One of those indispensable samplers, with so much going for it - label design, musical quality, rare tracks, top audio and alluring cover pics - it has become a collectors item by own merits. One cut each from the sixteen first albums realeased by the label. Most represented here didn't sell a lot back then and the originals can sometimes be hard to find or afford. I haven't had or heard all of those so I can't compare, but get the impression they picked the better or best from each. 

Some compilations have at least one downer regarding track choice or audio. On here I can't find one thing less than marvelous. From the happy-go-luckys Fairfield Parlour "In My Box" and Magna Carta "Going My Way" over the heavy Sabbath, Juicy Lucy and Uriah Heep cuts to the jazzier Nucleus, Colosseum and May Blitz it's all tophole. 

Only bad thing is I can't use it as background music when doing chores at home. The beauty entices me and sooner or later I get stuck in front of the speakers, forgetting everything about cleaning or whatever.

Vertigo Records was the late 60s progressive rock arm of the Philips Records empire. 

It is still in existence today as part of Mercury, but it is the early UK releases with "swirl" or "spiral" labels that are most sought after by collectors. 

Probably the most well known are the first four Black Sabbath LPs, but the list of artists who appeared on this label is long and varied including such diverse acts as Status Quo, Rod Stewart and Kraftwerk.  

01. Colosseum - Elegy  03.10
02. Rod Stewart - Handbags And Gladrags 04.25
03. Jimmy Campbell - Half Baked  04.42
04. May Blitz - I Don't Know  04.50
05. Juicy Lucy - Mississippi Woman  03.49
06. Fairfield Parlour - In My Box  01.59
07. Magna Carta - Goin' My Way (Road Song)  02.55
08. Affinity - Three Sisters  05.00
09. Black Sabbath - Behind The Wall Of Sleep  03.41
10. Gracious - Introduction  05.55
11. Cressida - To Play Your Little Game  03.21
12. Nucleus - Elastic Rock  04.05
13. Manfred Mann Chapter Three - One Way Glass  03.35
14. Bob Downes - No Time Like The Present  03.04
15. Dr. Strangely Strange - Summer Breeze  03.41
16. Uriah Heep - Gypsy  06.56

Bonus Tracks:
17. Catapilla - Changes  12.05
18. Gravy Train - Think Of Life  05.10
19. Jade Warrior - May Queen  05.24
20. Mike Absalom - Frightened Of The Dark  03.25
21. Ramases - Life Child  06.39
22. Patto - Give It All Away  04.10

Part 1: Vertigo Annual 1
Part 2: Vertigo Annual 2
Part 3: Verigo Annual 3
Part 1: Vertigo Annual 1
Part 2: Vertigo Annual 2
Part 3: Vertigo Annual 3
Part 1: Vertigo Annual 1
Part 2: Vertigo Annual 2
Part 3: Vertigo Annual 3