Tuesday, October 17, 2023

The Head Shop - Selftitled (Good Heavy Psychedelia US 1969)

Size: 86.6 MB
Bitrate: 256
Ripped By: ChrisGoesRock
Artwork Included

DO YOU WANT HEAD? BLOW YOUR MIND WITH THE HEAD SHOP ALBUM!', screams a commercial ad in New York's Screw magazine in l969. Here's the CD reissue from the original mastertape, including bios, photos and 7 bonus tracks. The album was produced and arranged by Milan, aka Rick Rodell, and Max Ellen, both professionals in the music business. The band had garagy roots and evolved from Household Sponge to The Head Shop. Milan´s project that time was Licorice Schtik. 

Both outfits released a 45 record, which are 4 bonus tracks on this CD. This New York psychedelic underground project has its unique sound: soulful vocals, flying Hammond organ, fuzzy bass, distorted lead guitars, lots of percussive -- and weird -- rhythm instruments, plus several unexpected stereo effects. Larry Coryell features as 'wailing' guest musician on the track, 'I Feel Love Comin' on'. 'Listen with the Third Ear,' and this album and 9 musical chapters will lead you into new musical and audiophile dimensions of psychedelic art of music."

CD reissue from the original mastertape, including bios, photos and 7 bonus tracks of this classic US '60s expolito-psych album that goes totally over the top. Crammed full of distorted acid guitar and weird effects (choirs, backwards bits etc.) this is like a bit like Vanilla Fudge but much more extreme... Tracks like "Listen With A Third Ear" and "Prophecy" are particularly mind disturbing. CD contains 7 bonus tracks. This is fantastic psychedelia.

01 - Head Shop - 3.03
02 - Heaven Here We Come - 2.48
03 - Sunny - 3.17
04 - Listen With The Third Ear - 2.38
05 - Opera In The Year 4000 - 4.26
06 - Revolution - 2.32
07 - I Feel Love Comin´ On - 5.53
08 - Prophecy - 2.20
09 - Infinity - 4.58
10 - Scars (Bonus) - 2.37
11 - Second Best (Bonus) - 2.17
12 - Flowers, Flowers (Bonus) - 2.03
13 - Kissing Game (Bonus) - 2.10
14 - Sunshine (Bonus) - 1.15
15 - Groovy Feelings (Bonus) - 1.53
16 - In Central Park (Bonus) - 1.53

1. Head
2. Head
3. Head


The John Dummer´s Famous Music Band - Selftitled (UK Blues 1970)

Size: 80 MB
Bitrate: 256
Ripped by: ChrisGoesRock
Artwork Included

This blues outfit formed in the Summer of 1967 in London. By the beginning of 1968, Tony Walker and Roger Pearce had both quit the music business. The next line-up was playing solid Chicago-styled blues. In July 1968, they turned professional. By now, Steve Rye had departed for Simon and Steve, and Tony McPhee, a friend of Dave Kelly's, came in on guitar. However, McPhee's stay was brief - a few month later he left to join The Groundhogs. Their two albums for Mercury are the most sought-after by collectors.

Dummer followed this with Music Band, a venture with violinist Nick Pickett, which achieved little here but had a French hit with “Nine By Nine”. 

Shortening their name to John Dummer, they signed to Vertigo, recording “Blue”, with a cover designed by Roger Dean. The music was still competent blues-rock, but nowhere near as good as their earlier, late-sixties offerings on Mercury. Then, teaming up again with his original guitarist Dave Kelly, Dummer recorded “Oobleedooblee Jubilee” with a country-influenced band. This was a dreadful album, and Dummer went on to hit the skins for another appalling (if commercially successful) band, Darts.

01. Lady Luck
02. Yes Sir, She's My Baby
03. Boogie Woogie Lullaby
04. Coming Home
05. Searching For You
06. Nine By Nine
07. Move Me, Don't Leave Me
08. Going In The Out
09. No Chance Now
10. Fine Looking Woman

1. Famous
2. Famous
3. Famous