Sunday, July 09, 2017

Biters - The Future Ain't What It Used to Be (US Glamrock 2017)

Size: 87.2 MB
Bitrate: 320
Ripped by: ChrisGoesRock
Some Artwork Included

A band formed on the premise of reigniting authenticity, iconicism and style in today’s rock’n’roll scene, Biters have set themselves a pilgrimage to Mordor and back. However, their latest release cherry-picked from their upcoming album ‘The Future Ain’t What It Used To Be’ is a milestone on completing this journey. Boasting a deliciously arrogant, strutting guitar riff, tumbling rhythm and captivating vocal growls and howls, Stone Cold Love is a texturally intricate treat that indisputably echoes Marc Bolan’s T.Rex. Stone Cold Love is a worthy reward following the eye-roll inducing, rock’n’roll cliché opener Let It Roll that comprises lyrics salvaged straight from Def Leppard’s Let It Go: “let it rock and let it roll”.

Truth be told, for a band striving for authenticity, Biters wander dangerously close to the lyrical clichés that only Whitesnake can pull off. However, via recycling lyrical schematics whilst blurring the boundaries between pop rock, sleaze punk and glam rock, Biters have created an album wholly accessible to the musically ignorant and musically savvy. Despite its failings, such as the seemingly tokenistic ballads Hollywood and Goin’ Back To Georgia, ‘The Future Ain’t What It Used To Be’ is utterly anthemic such that listening to it through any means other than a Colosseum built entirely of Marshall speaker stacks oozes injustice.

Vulture City is a sure highlight, blending punk angst with a dusting of soft glam and a spoonful of vintage rock’n’roll that conjures a pre-millennial summer breeze amidst the eye of a rhythmic storm. Don’t Turn This Good Heart Bad was born for any jukebox-browsing chica possessing hip movements to rival a snake, whilst Callin’ You Home effortlessly intertwines an abundance of timbres that crescendos towards an earworm-summoning chorus. Even the most demure of rockers will struggle to resist a sudden public outcry of the chorus hooks ‘The Future Ain’t What It Used To Be’ offers up.

In a world where the golden gods of rock music are fast approaching extinction, the future definitely ain’t what it used to be. Could Biters get us back on track for the musical future we were promised in the seventies? Probably not. But they’re sure making a damned good attempt at it.

Presenting the brand new album from Georgia's most dangerous rock 'n' roll band, "The Future Ain't What It Used To Be"! Packaged in a deluxe digipak case containing a stunning fold out poster with lyrics to the whole album, complete with a printed booklet with liner notes and complete lyrics for the album.

Expanding upon the unmistakeable sound that made their full length debut, "Electric Blood", a top 10 Album Of The Year in Classic Rock and earning them a 'Best New Band' nomination at the Planet Rock awards last year, Biters' are blazing a trail across the world with their galvanizing live shows and growing in notoriety.

Loud and fiery but also unashamedly afraid of pop hooks and sweet harmonies, their modern twist on electrifying rock 'n' roll is paradoxically fresh and tinged with nostalgia, reminding us of times when bands looked like bands and acted like gangs. With a cynical lyrical social commentary on the state of the world and a knack for a catchy feel-good chorus, Biters are set to destroy and suggestions that rock 'n' roll is dead with their hunger for anarchy and partying hard!

The band were invited to open the Kerrang Tour 2016 with Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes and pop-punk icons Sum 41, which saw them play to sold out crowds of over 18,000 over 8 raucous and memorable live performances across the UK. With a brand new 24-date European tour with Atlanta label mates Blackberry Smoke coming up this year, and many dates having already sold out months in advance, "The Future Ain't What It Used To Be" promises to firmly plant the flag of rock 'n' roll back on the map!

01. Let It Roll
02. Stone Cold Love
03. Callin' You Home
04. Don't Turn This Good Heart Bad
05. Gypsy Rose
06. No Stranger To Heartache
07. Vulture City
08. Hollywood
09. Chasin' The Feeling
10. Goin' Back To Georgia

1. Biters
2. Biters
3. Biters