Friday, December 10, 2021

Victoria - Victoria (Private Pressed US Psychedelia 1971)

Size: 118 MB
Bitrate: 256
Ripped by: ChrisGoesRock
Artwork Included

Locally New Jersey demo release (200 made), beyond rare fantastic concept psych beauty, maybe 5 or 6 known copies. 3 girls 1 guy. They tried to get attention from big labels but this never happend. They wanted him to sound like Blood Sweat & Tears. But this was not Greg's idea of music. The music has everything you need, like a wild version of early Moby Grape combined with New Dawn and C.A. Quintet, sometimes dreamy sometimes totally wild underground-psych, with female vocals and splattering leads, Titanic horns & destorted guitars. Sweet tunes turn into dark psychpower. TOTALLY STONED!! 

Super rare US psych concept album that has a Neighbr'hood Childr'n feel. This psych beauty, sometimes dreamy sometimes totally wild has female vocals, titanic horns & distorted guitars. Sweet tunes turn into dark psych-power. Greg Ruban, the composer and front-man of Victoria recorded this album just before he had to go to Vietnam. When he returned from War, obviously mentally fucked, he took his unreleased album on a 3 month trip to Europe on a motorbike to promote it, but unfortunately that did not work out at all. The album was unreleased until only a few years ago.…

01. Peace - 2.44
02. Cumberland - 4.41
03. Gevaro - 4.11
04. Ride A Rainbow - 2.50
05. Never Knew Blues - 4.58
06. Down To The Park - 2.57
07. Village Of Etaf - 12.23
08. Core Of The Apple - 8.09
09. Mister Let Me Go (Bonus Acetate) - 3.37
10. Johny & Lisa (Bonus Acetate) - 3.02
11. Peace (Bonus Acetate) - 2.52
12. Cumberland (Bonus Acetate) - 2.51
13. Child Of Princess (Bonus Real-To-Real Track) - 3.07
14. Sundance (Bonus Real-To-Real Track) - 1.46
15. Wheels (Bonus Real-To-Real Track) - 2.02


Sunday, December 05, 2021

Hamana - Hamana (Great Psychedelic Folkrock US 1974)

Size: 76.6 MB
Bitrate: 256
Ripped By: ChrisGoesRock
Artwork Included

A v.rare debut album recorded in 1974, originally issued on the local Phoenix label, Canyon Records. To most 60´s psychedelic rock/folk fans this is almost an unknown album, with only a few copies known to exist. Hamana was a native American, who went in 1969 to college in the white man's world, and the album expresses perfectly the sunny California peace, love & freedom feeling, 

The music itself is emotive with strong vocals, lots of West coast psychedelic guitar flashes, a bit garage feeling but also loner folk style with native American elements. 

The appeal of this album reminds one of Quicksilver Messenger Service, The Byrds, X.I.T, Neil Young, Buffalo Springfield, Garrett Lund - Near unbelievable that on these recordings all instruments, bass, guitars, vocals and drums have been played by Hamana himself, later to be overdubbed into a tasty and atmospheric stereo acoustic/electric mix. This CD-reissue is a mastertape release licensed by Canyon Records, and contains an 8 page booklet + 2 unreleased bonus tracks. Highly recommended!

01. The Meek Shall Inherit The Earth - 2.35   
02. Whu Can't I Understand - 3.39   
03. Be Free With Me - 2.46   
05. On The Road - 2.17   
04. I Remember - 3.13 
06. One Night - 3.07   
07. Future Goodbyes - 2.57   
09. Message To The Crystal - 3.40   
10. Shine On (Bonus 1965) - 5.36     
11. Peace In Within You (Bonus 1965) - 5.33  

1.  Hamana
2. Hamana
3. Hamana