Thursday, August 03, 2017

The Ivory Elephant - Number 1 Pop Hit (Psychedelic Hardrock Australia 2017)

Size: 152 MB
Bitrate: 320
Ripped by: ChrisGoesRock
Artwork Included

Scraping out of the grit of Brunswick (Melbourne, Australia), The Ivory Elephant are a 3-piece playing Heavy Blues. Joining the Blues/Rock renaissance of bands such as The Black Keys and The White Stripes, and with a sound often likened to Jimi Hendrix and Led Zeppelin, The Ivory Elephant bring their own thing to the style.

From the depths of Melbourne’s underground, The Ivory Elephant exist in a space of late nights and loud sounds. Music that harks back to the greats of 70s rock n’roll, saturated with heavy psych and down-home delta blues.

Melbourne trio, The Ivory Elephant are releasing their first full-length LP Number 1 Pop Hit on Kozmik Artifactz (Child, Buried Feather, The Heavy Eyes, Ruby the Hatchet). 

Despite the name, the new album explores the darker side of blues-rock, and delves deep into three-piece psychedelia.

Recorded at Melbourne’s iconic Soundpark Studios (Paul Kelly, Clairy Browne, Dave Graney) Number 1 Pop Hit was tracked over three days on the bands usual shoe-string budget.

Opening with the title track, Number One Pop Hit, is what could best be described as “slackerpsych”, the album then shifts to a rootsy gear for “Ballad of Wild Bill” and “In My Pocket”, whilst experimenting with heavy hypnotic blues in “We’re Gonna Find You” and “Torn Up Chewed Out”, along with the all out psychedelic guitar onslaught of “Psych Jam” and “Let’s Do This Again”.

Having emerged from the depths of Melbourne's underground, The Ivory Elephant revels in late nights and loud sounds. The band's music harks back to the greats of '70s rock'n'roll, saturated with heavy psych and down-home delta blues vibes. Despite the title, this album explores the darker side of blues-rock and delves deep into three-piece psychedelia.

Link to their site:

The Band:
Trent Sterling - Guitar 
Arthur Witherby - Bass 
Don Sargood - Drums

Album: Number 1 Pop Hit
01. Number 1 Pop Hit 02:54
02. Ballad of Wild Bill 03:09
03. Ivory Theme 2nd Movement in D minor 01:49
04. Ho Ha 03:26
05. We're Gonna Find You 03:17
06. Like a Dog 05:19
07. Psych Jam, Captured By Confusion 09:09
08. In My Pocket 02:38
09. Torn Up, Chewed Out 03:21
10. Let's Do This Again 05:23

Bonus Album: The Ivory Elephant EP
11. Election Blues 03:57
12. Taxi Driver 03:52
13. Like a Dog 04:29
14. What's Good For You 02:31
15. Here to Stay 04:33
16. Be Bad 03:42

1. The Ivory Elephant
2. The Ivory Elephant
3. The Ivory Elephant