Sunday, August 14, 2022

Peacepipe - Peacepipe (Outstanding Heavy Psychedelia US 1970)

Size: 94.4 MB
Bit Rate: 256
Ripped by: ChrisGoesRock
Artwork Included

Peacepipe were the brainchild of guitarist John Uzonyi. They were a power trio that played Southern California and Arizona in the late '60s. They released a single during their existence, and also cut this album, which remained unreleased until the mid-'90s. 

Originally released on Rockadelic on vinyl only, Shadoks has now reissued it on compact disc, remastered from the original tapes. If you're into heavy psych guitar, you really need to hear this album.

Uzonyi has a monstrous tone on guitar, similar at times to Jimi Hendrix's feedback dive-bombing, but the two have very different playing styles.

Uzonyi is aided by drummer Gary Tsuruda and keyboard player Rick Abts, but the show belongs to Uzonyi. There are at least two guitars present most of the time, Uzonyi is the singer, and he most likely plays the bass tracks as well.

Uzonyi formed the band with Tsuruda in the mid-sixties whilst they were still at High School. In 1968 they headed for Hollywood and recorded two tracks; The Sun Won't Shine Forever and Lazy River Blues, which were released on a 45 by Accent. After school Uzonyi joined the U.S. Air Force and was based in Tucson, Arizona. 

There he met Rick Abts who joined Jon and Gary to form The Human Equation. They gigged around the U.S. West but disbanded in 1969 to pursue non-musical careers. Shortly after, though, they reformed to record the tunes, which 26 years later found their way onto a Rockadelic's Peacepipe album. (Jon shelved the project at the time).

Long awaited official reissue of this blistering late '60's US acid rock mind blower. Originally reissued on Rockadelic a few years back (one of the label's best known and rarest releases) here it is in digital glory with cool photos, detailed liner notes and bonus tracks. 

Stunning tripped out guitar based psych with ripping acid wah-wah lead guitars, distortion, swirling keyboards and stoned lyrics. Turn it up to 13 and trip out. Fantastic!

- John Uzonyi / Guitar, vocals
- Gary Tsuruda / Drums
- Rick Abts / Keyboards

01. Sea Of Nightmares (6:26) 
02. Angel Of Love (4:10) 
03. I Can Never Take Your Dreams Away (6:24) 
04. Carry On Together (2:43) 
05. Bikers Tune (2:49) 
06. Open Your Mind (4:50) 
07. Day The War Has Ended (10:08) 
08. Love Shines (3:12) 
09. Keep A Smilin' Cari (2:49) 
10. Sun Won't Shine Forever (2:49) 
11. Lazy River Blues (3:39)

1. Pipe
2. pipe
3. pipe