Thursday, November 16, 2017

Savoy Brown - Blue Matter (3rd Bluesrock Album UK 1969)

Size: 129 MB
Bitrate: 320
Ripped by: ChrisGoesRock
Artwork Included
Source: Japan SHM-CD Remaster

Blue Matter is the third album by the band Savoy Brown. Teaming up once again with producer Mike Vernon, it finds them experimenting even more within the blues framework. Several tracks feature piano (played by Bob Hall, guitarist Kim Simmonds, and vocalist Chris Youlden, who even plays guitar here) as well as trombone.

This album featured a mix of live and studio recordings. The live tracks were recorded on December 6, 1968 at the now defunct City of Leicester College of Education because the band was scheduled to tour the USA and needed additional tracks to complete the album in time for the tour. 

The booking at the college represented their only chance to record the extra tracks in a live venue before embarking on the tour. An offer to perform the concert free of charge was accepted by Chris Green, the college Social Secretary, who had made the original booking, and the concert was duly recorded, a number of the live tracks being added to the album.

Because Chris Youlden was suffering from tonsillitis, Dave Peverett stood in as lead vocalist on the live tracks.

The album track "Vicksburg Blues" had first appeared as the B-side of Decca single F 12797 (released June 1968), fronted by "Walking by Myself".

The third release by Kim Simmonds and company, but the first to feature the most memorable lineup of the group: Simmonds, “Lonesome” Dave Peverett, Tony “Tone” Stevens, Roger Earl, and charismatic singer Chris Youlden. 

Savoy Brown  - Blue Matter Australian Artwork Release

This one serves up a nice mixture of blues covers and originals, with the first side devoted to studio cuts and the second a live club date recording. 

Certainly the standout track, indeed a signature song by the band, is the tour de force “Train to Nowhere,” with its patient, insistent buildup and pounding train-whistle climax. Additionally, David Anstey’s detailed, imaginative sleeve art further boosts this a notch above most other British blues efforts.

 Chris Youlden – Lead Vocal, Guitar, Piano
 Kim Simmonds – Lead Guitar, Harmonica, Piano
 "Lonesome" Dave Peverett – Rhythm Guitar, Vocal
 Tone Stevens – Bass (except on tracks 1, 2 and 4)
 Roger Earl – Drums, Percussion
 Bob Hall – Piano
 Rivers Jobe – Bass (on tracks 1, 2 and 4)

Additional Musicians
 Terry Flannery, Keith Martin, Alan Moore, Brian Perrin, Derek Wadsworth – Trombones (on track 1)
 Mike Vernon – Percussion (on track 1)

01. "Train to Nowhere" (Kim Simmonds, Chris Youlden) – 04:12
02. "Tolling Bells" (Simmonds, Youlden) – 06:33
03. "She's Got a Ring in His Nose and a Ring on Her Hand" (Youlden) – 03:07
04. "Vicksburg Blues" (Bob Hall, Youlden) – 04:00
05. "Don't Turn Me from Your Door" (John Lee Hooker) – 05:04
06. "Grits Ain't Groceries (All Around the World)" (Titus Turner) – 02:42 (Bonus track)
07. "May Be Wrong" (Dave Peverett) – 07:50
08. "Louisiana Blues" (Muddy Waters) – 09:06
09. "It Hurts Me Too" (Mel London) – 06:53

1. Blue Matter
2. Blue Matter
3. Blue Matter


Anonymous said...

This was a favourite LP to listen to back in the day at parties where British music lovers got together. I still have the vinyl - 2 copies- but no working turntable so it will be good to hear it again. Many thanks.


Anonymous said...

Maybe the best Savoy Brown album of the '60. Thank you so very much