Thursday, April 01, 2021

Picadilly Line - The Huge World of Emily Small (Pop Psychedelia UK 1967)

Size: 137 MB
Bitrate: 256
Ripped by: chrisGoesRock
Artwork Included
Source: japan 24-Bit Remaster

The Huge World of Emily Small is one of those albums that just seems to have slipped under the radar of most UK pop psych collectors. As such it has never been reissued in any form until now! The band (a duo lead by Rod Edwards and Roger Hand, who would later record as Edwards Hand) flourished briefly in the late 60's releasing this one album. With them is the cream of UK session men including Danny Thompson (bass), Alan Hawkshaw (keys), Herbie Flowers (bass) and Harold McNair (flute). The Picadilly Line even managed an appearance at The Middle Earth club in London, the then hallowed centre of the UK psychedelic scene. 

The album is breezy post Sergeant Pepper psychedelic pop with plenty of swinging London vibes, orchestration and evocative whimsical lyrics. Reference points are a psychedelic Hollies, Chad and Jeremy (circa Of Cabbages and Kings) Nirvana, Kaleidoscope (UK), World Of Oz, Donovan and The Bee Gees. Filled with beautiful dreamy vocal harmonies and elaborate electric and acoustic arrangements this is a real trip back to the height of UK Flower Power. All material is original except for a great version of Dylan's "Visions of Johanna" and The Everly Brothers "Gone, Gone Gone". This exact limited edition reissue is housed in a reproduction of the original sleeve. Features ten unreleased bonus tracks, including their non-album singles "Yellow Rainbow / Evenings With Corrina" and "Evenings With Corrina / My Best Friend", both from 1968..

01. "Emily Small (The Huge World Thereof)" 2:29
02. "Silver Paper Dress" 2:43
03. "At the Third Stroke" 2:57
04. "Can You See Me?" 2:08
05. "Your Dog Won't Bark" 2:55
06. "How Could You Say You're Leaving Me" 2:37
07. "Gone, Gone, Gone" 2:18
08. "Twiggs" 3:46
09. "Tumble Down World" 2:51
10. "Visions of Johanna" 6:09
11. "Come and Sing a Song" 2:58
12. "Her Name is Easy" 3:26
13. "Rosemary's Bluebell Day" 3:09

14. "Gunny Sunside" 3:38
15. "Country Girl" 3:08
16. "No One Else Can See" 2:41
17. "Yellow Rainbow" 2:17
18. "I Know, She Believes" 3:04
19. "Evenings With Corinna" 2:48
20. "My Best Friend" 2:33
21. "Memories Fade" 1:35
22. "I Can Tell You Everything" 2:21


1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Thanks Chris, got this on on vinyl. i'm stoked to hear the bonus tracks :)