Friday, March 10, 2023

Stevie Ray Vaughan - 1st Unreleased Album (1978) (Bootleg) A+

Size: 163 MB
Bitrate: 320
Found in "Dime" 18 years Ago
Superb SoundQuality
Artwork Included

"The Legendary Lost First Stevie Ray Vaughn Album"
Stevie Ray Vaughan & Double Trouble featuring Miss Lou Ann Barton.

"The one and only surviving test pressing was recently discovered 
in a cupboard in South Austin, Texas where it had lain for the last 19 years, all other recordings of the project have been destroyed after alleged contractual disputes arose.  These recording, notable for their raw energy and rare slide guitar work are essential for all true collectors.  Also featuring four early arrangements of songs that later appeared on the Texas Flood album.

Due to the brevity of the Nashville '78 session the producers  
have added a live soundboard recording featuring Lou Ann Barton and three tracks featuring Johnni Reno on saxophone."

Notes: The above paragraph is the supposed story behind this  recording as told on the cd inlay.  The real story is  that the band didn't like the way the album turned out
and paid a large sum of money to keep it from being  released.  As you would expect, someone got their hands  on a copy and bootlegged it.

◊ Stevie Ray Vaughan: Vocals and Guitar
◊ Jack Newhouse: Bass
◊ Chris Layton: Drums
◊ Lou Ann Barton: Vocals
    Produced by: Joe Gracy

Tracks 1-10: Studio Recordings
Recorded in Nashville, Tennessee at Jack Clemont's Belmont Studio, early 1978
Tracks 11-17: Austin Blues Festival, 1979
Tracks 18-20: Piona's, October 1979  

01. You Can Have My Husband (Lou Ann vocal)  02:53
02. Rude Mood  03:25  
03. Oh, Yeah (Lou Ann vocal)  03:00
04. Pride And Joy (Stevie vocal)  03:00
05. Love Struck Baby (Stevie vocal)  02:04
06. Ti-Ni-Nee-Ni-Nu ("Tina Nina Nu", Lou Ann vocal)  02:44
07. Gonna Miss Me ("Empty Arms", Stevie vocal)  02:23
08. I Wonder Why ("Will My Man Be Home Tonight?" > Lou Ann vocal, Stevie slide guitar)  05:31
09. I'm Crying ("I'm Crying", Stevie vocal)  03:30
10. Sugar Coated Loving ("Sugar Coated Love", Lou Ann vocal)  03:22
Bonus Tracks
11. Natural Born Lover  03:41
12. Ti-Ni-Nee-Ni-Nu ("Tina Nina Nu")  02:54
13. Scratch My Back  04:00
14. I'll Change  03:11
15. Shake A Hand, Shake A Hand  04:32
16. Oh Baby  03:34
17. Sugar Coated Love  03:40
Extra Bonus
18. Love In Vain  04:29
19. You Can Have My Husband (starts off with "So Excited")  05:16
20. My Baby's Gone ("Oh Yeah")  02:53

1. Stevie
2. Stevie
3. Stevie


Rhodb said...

Thanks Chris A nice piece of history here Good share Regards

Malaspina said...

Super! Thanks Chris.