Friday, October 06, 2017

Dirtbag Republic - Downtown Eastside (Vancouver Sleaze Rockers 2017)

Size: 85.7 MB
Bitrate: 320
Ripped by: ChrisGoesRock
Artwork Included

Vancouver sleaze rockers deliver punishing sleazy tunes along the lines of Hanoi Rocks, D Generation, Aerosmith, NY Dolls. The bands 2015 debut album was critically received and ended up on several 2015 best of lists.

Dirtbag Republic started off as an idea to put the sleaze back in Rock n' Roll with zero shtick. Vancouver rock veterans Sandy Hazard (vocals/Drums) & Mick Wood (Guitars) were up to the task.

Wood & Hazard have been friends since 1985, when Hazard stole Wood from another group he saw at a local battle of the bands. 

Years later Hazard would call on Wood again when his then band Pretty Boy Floyd/Tommy Floyd (Canada) had just disbanded. The two were dismayed at the bandwagon grunge scene and had a vision to put together something that crossed Hanoi Rocks with the Ramones. Enter Grandma Moses, a freight train of a band that stormed the Vancouver scene, was featured in Metal Edge magazine and debut album released posthumously by Perris Records to critical acclaim. The band was also featured in Sleazegrinders Flash Metal Suicide.

After Grandma Moses imploded, Wood laid low in the scene surfacing now and then, and Hazard went on to play for 20 years with Bubblepunkers MCRACKINS releasing 17 albums from labels around the globe. The band were featured on the legendary John Peel Show (BBC), MTV Europe, Much Music, Spin, Molson Canadian commercial and a hilariously bad feature film called Downhill Willy. The MCRACKINS outlasted many of their contemporaries from the 90’s and consistently received critical acclaim for their albums.

Enter Dirtbag Republic. Hazard had an unstoppable urge to create an old school dragging your ass through the gutter filth rock record, with zero filler. 

His first thought was to call Mick Wood to run it by him. Wood was fully onboard and the two soon began to work on 12 songs for what would soon become the album. Hazard also brought in former Pretty Boy Floyd/Tommy Floyd bassist Steve Bratz to lay down bass. 

A year in the making, the debut Dirtbag Republic record has been recorded and will be ready for release this fall. It was mixed and mastered at Rain City Recorders in Vancouver, BC by Stu McKillop who is a veteran of the Vancouver music scene.

Dirtbag Republic is a modern non-stop aural assault, crossing influences such as Hanoi Rocks, Aerosmith, The Faces, Cheap Trick, Rolling Stones & NY Dolls. The borders are wide open to expand their nation of two. 

Sandy Hazard - Drums, Vocals
Mick Wood - Lead Guitar
Andrew Cairns - Guitar
Kyle Richardson - Bass

01. Junkie Girl 03:04
02. Homeless 02:56
03. My Part Of Town 03:07
04. Fantasy World 03:02
05. Swing And A Miss 03:30
06. See You In The Morning 04:36
07. Thinking Of You 04:20
08. Don't Shoot Your Mouth Off 04:02
09. Free Falling 03:41
10. Crawling Back To Me 03:48

1. Dirtback
2. Dirtback
3. Dirtback


Fabio D. said...

Man you deserve a Good Karma.
Thanks for these Jewels.

Malaspina said...

Thanks Chris.Excellent album.

djcrash said...

Thank u for sharing!I know good samples like in these tracks, i share with u -